Hunting in Lewis County

Cabin Creek Historical MarkerCabin Creek #143, Tollesboro, KY 10, west of Ribolt Early point of entry into Kentucky for explorers and pioneers. From it, marauding Indians forded across the Ohio River. War roads, marked with drawings of animals, the sun, and the moon, led from its mouth to Upper Blue Licks.

Cabin Creek Covered Bridge #1572, 4.5 mi. NW of Tollesboro on KY 984 Built ca. 1870, this 114 ft. covered bridge spans Cabin Creek. The name of the builder is unknown. It was constructed on Burr truss design, with laminated arches and truss rods added later. Louis Bower employed arches in early 1900s. Lack of siding creates a window effect along entire length. Bridge was listed on the National Register of Historic Places, 1976. (See picture below)

Route For Horses And Cattle #205, Vanceburg, KY 8 & KY 3037 In 1775, Col. Robert Patterson, Wm. McConnell, David Perry and Stephen Lowry brought the first horses (9) and cattle (14) into northern Kentucky. Animals were brought by boat from Ft. Pitt and driven overland from here to the early inland settlements.

Esculapia Springs Historical MarkerUnion Memorial #215, Vanceburg, Courthouse lawn, 112 Second St. The only Union monument south of the Mason-Dixon line erected by public subscription except those in cemeteries. This unique memorial was dedicated in 1884 to the 107 Lewis County soldiers who gave their lives for the Union during the Civil War.

Esculapia Springs #778, Charters, AA Hwy & KY 989 Site of one of the most popular health resorts along Ohio River, 1845-60. Mineral water from spring widely used for medicinal purposes. Resort was easy to access by boat and drew many out of state guests until destroyed by fire in 1860. Decline in use of spring water followed. Twenty other antebellum watering places flourished in Kentucky.

County Named, 1806 #803, Vanceburg, Courthouse lawn, 112 Second St. Meriwether Lewis of Lewis and Clark expedition, sent out by President Jefferson to explore the northwest, 1804-05. Followed the Missouri River to source, crossed mountains, then Columbia River to Pacific. Lewis born Va., 1774. US army, 1795; captain, 1800. Private Secretary to Jefferson, 1801-03. Terr. Gov. of Louisiana, 1807-09. Died, 1809, buried in Tennessee.

Three Tanyards Historical MarkerMagnificent Pin Oak #1393, 1 mi. E. of Charters, N. of KY 10 One of the largest and oldest pin- or swamp-oak trees in the world. In 1970, when the highway was relocated, it was about one hundred and fifty years old; its trunk circumference was 16.2 feet; the diameter at breast height was five feet, and the total height was 58 feet. This historic oak is preserved as one of nature’s beautiful achievements.

Three Tanyards #1656, Vanceburg, Ky. 59 & Ky. 344 Lewis Co., rich in tanbark (What is tanbark? See below), has had several tanneries. The father of Ulysses S. Grant was a manufacturer of leather associated with three tanyards in this area. Jesse Grant in 1846 bought a tanyard near the celebrated Esculapia Springs. He later operated a large tannery with Grimes family, relatives in Concord. Third tanyard he owned was at mouth of Grassy at Kinniconick.

*Tanbark is a bark rich in tannin (a soluble astringent) bruised or cut into small pieces and used in tanning hides into leather.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *